About the Council

Parish Council

The Parish Council provides the first level of local government

The Parish Council has three main responsibilities:

  • To represent the views of Parishioners on issues that are passed down to it by the East Herts District Council, with a particular responsibility to comment on local Planning Applications.

  • To provide a route for matters of concern within the village to be passed up to the relevant authorities.

  • To make good use of the precept (the 'parish' element of household rates).

East Herts District Council

The District Council provides the second level of local government

The District of East Hertfordshire has a population of approximately 125,000 and covers about 480 square miles on the eastern side of Hertfordshire.


The district has Broxbourne to the south, Welwyn and Hatfield and Stevenage to the west and North Hertfordshire as its northern boundary. To the east the district borders on the county of Essex.

East Herts District Council is responsible for housing, leisure and recreation, environmental health, waste collection, planning applications and local taxation collections.

Herts County Council

The County Council provides the third and final level of local government

Hertfordshire County council covers the whole of the Hertfordshire county and provides the majority of public services in this area.

Hertfordshire County councils is responsible for: education, highways, transport planning, passenger transport, social care, libraries, waste disposal and strategic planning.

The Government

The govenment is made up of elected MPs, each MP serves a constituencey

Mark Prisk MP is the Member of Parliament for the constituency of Hertford and Stortford - this includes the Parish of Wareside.

Please reload